Friday, December 26, 2014

Review: The Interview (2014)

The Interview (2014)

Rated R for pervasive language, crude and sexual humor, nudity, some drug use and brutal violence

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Review: S.F.W. (1994)

S.F.W. (1994)

Rated R for pervasive strong language, scenes of brutal violence, constant drug and alcohol use and some sexuality

Saturday, December 13, 2014

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Review: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 (2014)

So, we're on the third Hunger Games movie now, based on the first half of the trilogy's final and most divisive book. I'm someone who enjoyed the first two-thirds of Mockingjay but was seriously pissed off by the ending, so I've been waiting to see just how they handle that book's biggest problems, as well as whether they can keep up the hot streak established by the first two films. How did they do?

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 (2014)

Rated PG-13 for intense sequences of violence and action, some disturbing images and thematic material

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Friday, November 14, 2014

Review: Prom Night (2008)

Prom Night (2008)

Rated PG-13 for violence and terror, some sexual material, underage drinking, and language (unrated version reviewed)

Monday, November 3, 2014

Friday, October 31, 2014

Review: Saw (2004)

Has it really been ten years since Saw first came out? Well, if the 10th anniversary rerelease of the film this weekend only is any indication, then yes, I am officially old. The horror films of my childhood (or at least my teenage years) are now nostalgic. How long will it be before we get the Scream-style parody of torture porn?

Saw (2004)

Rated R for strong grisly violence and language

Friday, October 24, 2014

Review: Ouija (2014)

Ouija (2014)

Rated PG-13 for disturbing horror content, frightening images, and thematic material

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Review: A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010)

Good news: I'm finally done with my parade of every last Nightmare on Elm Street movie. Bad news: I had to cap it off with the worst one yet.

A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010)

Rated R for strong bloody horror violence, disturbing images, terror and language

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Review: Wes Craven's New Nightmare (1994)

If you thought it was over, think again. Now that I've cleared the "main" series Nightmare movies, capping off on Sunday night with a rewatch of Freddy vs. Jason, it's time for the spinoffs. First, we have Wes Craven returning to his most famous creation...

Wes Craven's New Nightmare (1994)

Rated R for explicit horror violence and gore, and for language


Saturday, October 18, 2014

Review: Freddy's Dead: The Final Nightmare (1991)

Day 6 of Nightmare Week, and they saved the worst for last. Yep, it's the one with the Power Glove.

Freddy's Dead: The Final Nightmare (1991)

Rated R for horror violence, and for language and drug content

Friday, October 17, 2014

Review: A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream Child (1989)

Day 5 of Nightmare week, and the shitstorm has finally made landfall. Yup, we're getting into the bad sequels now.

A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream Child (1989)

Rated R

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Review: A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master (1988)

Day 4 of Nightmare Week, and the downward spiral begins... but fortunately, we're still near the top of the slide.

A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master (1988)

Rated R


Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Review: A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors (1987)

And on into Day 3, with what is usually regarded to be the best of the Nightmare sequels... unfortunately, that means it's all downhill from here.

A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors (1987)

Rated R

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Review: A Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy's Revenge (1985)

Today, we come to the second film in the series, and one that has quite a... reputation among fans.

A Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy's Revenge (1985)

Rated R


Monday, October 13, 2014

Review: A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

So, for the scariest month of the year, I kick off my second review series. Just as I celebrated The Evil Dead last year when the remake came out, this week (and next Sunday) I'm watching every single Nightmare on Elm Street movie. Yes, all of them. Even the one with the Power Glove. (Especially the one with the Power Glove.) One a day, every day, until I'm through. I've already seen Freddy vs. Jason, so that's one down, though I'll probably squeeze it in somewhere for my own personal viewing. Let's begin with the film that started it all...

A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

Rated R


Saturday, October 11, 2014

Review: Dracula Untold (2014)

Dracula Untold (2014)

Rated PG-13 for intense scenes of warfare, vampire attacks, disturbing images, and some sensuality

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Review: Bloody Homecoming (2012)

So, over on the message board Death Awaits, I'm taking part in a challenge/excuse to watch a whole ton of horror movies this October. The challenge: watch one horror movie a day, with half of them (sixteen) being first-time viewings. Annabelle last week was the first of my first-time viewings, and today I'm watching one that they all swear is even worse, because I'm crazy like that.

Bloody Homecoming (2012)

Not rated

Sunday, October 5, 2014

Thursday, October 2, 2014

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Review Double Feature: Alien vs. Predator (2004) and Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (2007)

Another double feature review, this time of the two Alien vs. Predator films. Neither enjoys all that great a reputation, but has either one improved with age?

(The answer for both: Nope.)

Alien vs. Predator (2004)

Rated PG-13 for violence, language, horror images, slime and gore

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Review: The Maze Runner (2014)

The Maze Runner (2014)

Rated PG-13 for thematic elements and intense sequences of sci-fi violence and action, including some disturbing images

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Review: Ghostbusters (1984)

So, pretty much nothing interesting came out last week, and this week looks no different. (Okay, I liked the first Dolphin Tale, but I wasn't exactly waiting for a sequel.) On the other hand, the Ghostbusters 30th anniversary rerelease is still in theaters...

Ghostbusters (1984)

Rated PG

Sunday, September 7, 2014

Review: Suspiria (1977)

What's come out this weekend... really? A Christian pseudo-Elvis movie that utterly bombed, and a re-release of Forrest Gump? That's it? Welp, time to dig into the DVD pile again.

Suspiria (1977)

Rated R (originally rated X)

Sunday, August 31, 2014

Review: Let's Be Cops (2014)

Let's Be Cops (2014)

Rated R for language including sexual references, some graphic nudity, violence and drug use

Friday, August 29, 2014

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Review: Valentine (2001)

Hmm, what's playing at the movies that I haven't seen... The Expendables 3, didn't like the second one, and the PG-13 rating removes the one thing that had going for it... The Giver, the book is damn near untouchable, but the trailers for this make it look like they turned it into a fifth-rate Hunger Games ripoff... Let's Be Cops, Damon Wayans' last few movies have all been garbage... goddamn has this been a lousy summer at the movies? And now we're in the damn dump months. I could go see Guardians of the Galaxy again, but I think I'll dig into the DVD collection and grab something that I haven't watched yet.

Valentine (2001)

Thursday, July 31, 2014

Review Double Feature: Sharknado (2013) and Sharknado 2: The Second One (2014)

Ah, Syfy original movies. The modern equivalent of '50s drive-in creature features. I'm reviewing two of them today, two films that have gotten a strange amount of attention in the last year or so. Do they deserve it?

Sharknado (2013)